She Found Style

an attempt to discover my sense of style in one year and learning more about myself than I ever imagined along the way

A Mother’s Initiation

You’ll notice with my outfit a brand new accessory that may (or may not) go well with my look.  A pink and purple rolled-paper, straw and bead necklace made by Miss Kaia in her kindergarten class.   My first piece of jewelry from one of my children.

To be completely honest, I never understood how adults could wear such tacky kid-made creations in public.  But when I opened my present on Mother’s Day, an overwhelming sense of love came over me and I wore my necklace with great pride.  I finally understood.  An official initiation into motherhood.

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “A Mother’s Initiation

  1. Michelle on said:

    You wear it so well(motherhood and the necklace).

    • Michelle, you were one of the first momma’s I met close to my age. You’ve been an incredible example for all of us to follow. Thank YOU.

  2. carri3 on said:

    Beautiful necklace, beautiful post. 🙂

  3. Just gorgeous, can’t wait til it’s my turn to wear a something made with love!

  4. Cammie Burgess on said:

    Was it in Little Women where they talked of having red-letter days? This is definitely a red-letter day.

I can't wait to hear what you have to say!

