She Found Style

an attempt to discover my sense of style in one year and learning more about myself than I ever imagined along the way

How to Spring Clean Your Closet and Why You Should

I ran into this excellent little post about style and spring-cleaning your closet.  Not only does the writer offer suggestions on how to clean your closet, she offers a great perspective on why you should regularly re-visit your wardrobe:

I think my wardrobe should be a reflection of my style and my aesthetic judgment. Every item that I don’t really like or that just doesn’t look good on me, is tainting that reflection a little bit…

Things in excess, even seemingly trivial ones like clothes, are burdensome and stress us out. This effect is amplified for people who are into fashion and see it as a means of self-expression: for us a closet filled with clothes that aren’t our style is literally restraining our ability to express ourselves. So, less is more. Or more is more. It’s fine if your closet is close to bursting, as long as everything in there reflects your style. –Anushka Rees

I like that the writer is merging practicality (cleaning out spaces that quickly get filled with excess) with personal growth (taking a moment to re-examine where you are and who you are – it’s an evolving process).

Maybe this week I’ll take some time to go through my closet and purge the items that don’t really reflect me.  Who knows what the process might teach me.  Any one care to join me?  I’d love to hear about (by the way, I love hearing from you).

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “How to Spring Clean Your Closet and Why You Should

  1. so true….It’s hard though. I get a lot of hand me downs so not everything is “me”. But i try to remix the pieces to make it “me”. I clean out my wardrobe every now and then but i have sentmental pieces that i cannot bare to throw. Which is bad. Ha..Thanks for sharing this i am going to do a wardrobe clean out sometime again…btw thanks for dropping by!

    mongs
    mythriftycloset.blogspot.com

    • Mongs, For sure! Hand-me-downs always seem to linger in my closet longer than they should. It’s hard to get rid of those for some reason!

      • I think it’s the sentimental value in hand-me-downs that makes them difficult to get rid of (you always think, “Oh, so-and-so gave this to me, I shouldn’t throw it away…”) – at least for me it is. I’m in the process of cleaning out my closet as I prepare to move, and let me tell you, it is tough.

      • Salazar, for sure! I totally get you on this one. Thanks for stopping by!

I can't wait to hear what you have to say!

