She Found Style

an attempt to discover my sense of style in one year and learning more about myself than I ever imagined along the way

A Gain in Confidence: What I Have Learned So Far

Annie, my mother-in-law, asked me recently what I’ve learned so far in my style challenge.  I started rattling off a list about accessories and trying something new and how fun it is to learn.  But as I listened to myself, I realized what I have gained goes a bit deeper than picking out the right necklace.

Have you ever been invited to a party?  Have you ever agonized over what to wear to the party?  Have you ever ran out to the store the morning of the party to find something since you have nothing in your closet that feels right only to come home after shopping tired and frustrated and empty-handed?  And have you ever gone to a party wearing something “eh” and then agonized all night long about what you were wearing?

Yup, I’ve been there done that.  And the real shame of it all?  Spending all that energy fretting over my appearance.  When what I should be doing is enjoying the party, laughing with friends, and bringing life to those around me.

But so often I get caught up in the wrong thing.  The wrong worries.  And clothing is just another place I can misspend my energy.

It’s not about keeping up with the stylish crowd.  That is exhausting.  It’s about doing what is right for me and reaping confidence from a good choice and a little preparation.

And that is what I’ve gained so far.  Not only am I learning how to dress right for myself but by investing all my energy into this style education, I’m freeing myself up to enjoy the party, laugh with my friends, and give life to those around me.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “A Gain in Confidence: What I Have Learned So Far

  1. Interesting point. 🙂 Reaping confidence is one of the most important factors in one’s sartorial sense.

  2. I’d love to hear more about the “yikes I’m going to a party tonight!” phenomenon, and the shopping-lust it can induce. And about going to a party wearing something “eh” and then agonizing. I do it too often, and I dislike it in myself.

    • Hi B. Thanks for stopping by! It’s time to stop worrying about what we are wearing, right?! I’m grateful that I am spending the energy up-front so I don’t have to spend as much on the other end. So far, it’s been worth it.

  3. One of the things I’ve always liked about you is how you bring life to the people around you, including me! And I always think you look great.

I can't wait to hear what you have to say!

