She Found Style

an attempt to discover my sense of style in one year and learning more about myself than I ever imagined along the way

Find Your Inspiration

This whole journey started for me one afternoon when I was relaxing in my bedroom.  I looked around and admired how cozy it felt and how each item in the room made me happy.  The wall paint is my favorite blue.  The curtains are a cheerful shade of red.  The lamp is made of clear plastic spheres.  An eclectic art collection – a house, a self-portrait, nature, nudes.

My mother-in-law Annie is responsible for how happy my home looks.  She can do all things decorating.  Annie’s best piece of advice for me when we first started decorating my house?  To start with something I love and make that the source of inspiration for every decorating decision.

I thought to myself if I can get my room to be decorated so perfectly for me, shouldn’t I be able to do that with my self?  And so this style challenge began.

For awhile now I’ve wanted to start wearing clothes based on this sweet still life (pictured above).  Every color in this image pleases me. When I reviewed last weeks photos, I realized I had subconsciously made the connection.  The outfit isn’t fancy or very creative.  But the colors are me.  I think something’s starting to make sense!

Recently I’ve agreed to participate in an art collaboration with Chevrons & Eclairs.  I’m hoping this will give me a chance to practice more of this new lesson – taking a piece of art I love and translating it into something wearable.  Stay tuned!

PS. If you haven’t already, be sure to enter the Miessence giveaway I’m hosting!

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Find Your Inspiration

  1. Oh I liked this post!! What a great challenge! Such a great idea to translate art into outfits 🙂

  2. That’s a great idea for a challenge! :]

  3. Great look! Beautiful! ♥♥♥

    xoxo

    Linda from http://www.moonon.com

  4. mleshine on said:

    Where did you get your hat or what are they called. I am wanting to get one for myself.

I can't wait to hear what you have to say!

