She Found Style

an attempt to discover my sense of style in one year and learning more about myself than I ever imagined along the way

He Said, She Said: Judy Garland

Always be a first-rate version of yourself, instead of a second-rate version of somebody else. -Judy Garland

I’m sure I’ve said this before but it’s worth repeating.  In regards to fashion, it’s so easy to get caught up in another person’s style.  Many of the bloggers in my Reader follow current trends and are able to happily keep up with it.  They look great, I want to look great and so I find myself wanting and trying to be them.  Good luck with that, Betsy.  I can’t compete and even if I could, I’d still be a “second-rate version of somebody else.”  Not really my ultimate goal in life.

Some of my favorite people wear looks that I don’t jive with at all.  But the reason why I like them?  They are clearly a “first-rate version” of themselves.  Totally awesome.  And my aspiration.  To become the best version of me.

A few of my favorite first-rate-ers?  Check them out!

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “He Said, She Said: Judy Garland

  1. You are certainly first rate AND an inspiration! Lots of love! xo

  2. I love your blog!
    Your outfits are so cute! And a lot look like what I have in my own closet!

    Keep it up!!

    xx-
    Alynne

  3. I love that photo! And you are absolutely right. It’s a good thing to be reminded of every now and then.

  4. So true…in the end, all you have is you…so why not be the best version of that!!
    Great photo!!

  5. This blog entry resonates with what I think perfectly. 🙂 Love the quote!

    http://www.fiona-wang.blogspot.com

    Fiona

I can't wait to hear what you have to say!

