She Found Style

an attempt to discover my sense of style in one year and learning more about myself than I ever imagined along the way

Take the First Step

Imagine my surprise when I made my daily visit over to Delightfully Tacky and found a few notes about my journey up on her site.  Talk about affirming!

Reading through the comments left by her readers I noticed a recurring theme – the desire to step outside of one’s comfort zone.  We see the benefit of doing it but making that first step can be so difficult.

What is that one thing you really want to do but just haven’t yet?  Style?  Learning to cook?  Traveling?  Writing a book?  Take that first step.  Just do it.  Buy a fashion magazine and pick out one outfit to try this month.  Find a new recipe to try (it’s okay if it doesn’t taste good, try another one).  Apply for your passport.  Write down anything that comes to mind – a book begins with a single sentence.  Just one.

Someone recently shared a story with me.  He wanted to climb a giant mountain (one of the tallest in the world).  He prepared for years.  When he finally got to the base of the mountain he found he couldn’t move. He was paralyzed with thoughts of not being able to summit the mountain.  A friend came alongside him and asked him, “Which step are you concerned about?”  He realized the first step was easy.  So he took it.  Then he considered the next step and realized he could take that one too.  And on and on he went until he reached the top of the mountain.

And so can you.  It only takes one step to get outside of your comfort zone.  Go for it.

**Many thanks to Elizabeth.  I was so encouraged by your thoughts.  You made some lovely observations that I’m still thinking about!

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Take the First Step

  1. That is really true and totally encouraging! I love the Mountain story. I might use it as an example for my students when they need motivation. 🙂

  2. Loved the story of the mountain climber. Everything seems so much more achievable when looked at from that perspective. Also, love your combination of stripes and the floral skirt. The sweater helps mute both pieces and pull them together perfectly. – Katy

  3. OH loved that story. Love the florial + stripes.

  4. Great story my dear. I am always trying out new things to step out of my comfort zone, today is the bright orange skirt for me 🙂 Speaking of skirts yours is tryly beautiful!

    Hope you had a great new year!

  5. I love this so much. Thanks for sharing your words of encouragement!!

    I actually just took a first step and started a new blog called FEST about food, style & travel. Come follow along as I document my wardrobe challenge: to not but any clothes in 2012. It’s gonna be great.

  6. Great outfit Betsy, on e of my favs thus far. It’s amazing what can happen when you step out of your comfort zone. 🙂

I can't wait to hear what you have to say!

