She Found Style

an attempt to discover my sense of style in one year and learning more about myself than I ever imagined along the way

Finding a New Direction aka Staying True to Myself

Jumping like a star for my buddy's blog, http://www.jumplikeastar.com

When I began this little experiment I started in what I thought was the most obvious place – the blogosphere.  I added blog after blog to my reader and I started following them every day.  I thought if I watched what other people were doing it would give me a good place to start.  Any place would be a good place for me!

And it was a great idea.  I started to learn how other people define their style.  But what I also began to do was compare myself.  Silly and ridiculous but certainly something we all struggle with, right?  And not only did I compare myself with others who were completely different from me, I started to think I should do certain things that weren’t really me.

  • I don’t really care to wear skirts in cool weather.  But everyone else is (and don’t they look super?).  My husband wants me to.  My sister wants me to.  But I really don’t want to.
  • Tons of jewelry everywhere on everything?  I keep trying to pull it off but usually I feel overdressed and too jingly (I looked that funny word up – it’s real).
  • Makeup.  Ooo, I love a good made up face.  And I was sporting one for awhile (well, attempting to).  But during the last 12 days of my body cleanse, my face has never felt happier without all that makeup and I realize I would so rather go au naturale then anything else.

The funny thing is I’m sure I’ll be experimenting with all those things again some day.

All this to say, sheesh!  It’s really hard to figure out my unique style.  Watching others has been helpful but it’s not steering me in the right direction.  It’s almost as if I need to start learning some tried-and-true concepts.  Taking advice from the inspiring older set (a most brilliant video, by the way).  And just trying out whatever makes me happy.

The one thing I have learned so far?  If I can just remain true to myself, I’m on the right path.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Finding a New Direction aka Staying True to Myself

  1. Good for you! Afterall, isn’t coming to this conclusion what this whole “experiment” is all about. I’m proud of you for doing what you know if right for you regardless of what Mike and I say about you wearing more skirts :). Gotta stay true to yourself.

  2. I try to give myself a no-make-up day at least once a week, it helps you feel cleaner I think. And I agree about the piles of jewelry – I usually only wear one thing, like some small earrings, a dainty necklace or small and simple ring.

  3. Sarah :) on said:

    Oh, HOORAY!!!!! I’m SO GLAD you came to this conclusion! I so wanted to shake you and say something to this effect when I read your “where do I go from here” post, but figured it was probably more of a rhetorical question…besides, it’s always more meaningful when you figure something out on your own vs. having someone tell you exactly the same thing.

I can't wait to hear what you have to say!

