She Found Style

an attempt to discover my sense of style in one year and learning more about myself than I ever imagined along the way

Style: What I’ve Learned so Far

It’s been about 8 weeks since I got all official with my quest for style.  The time has dragged for me (sometimes it’s just not easy to learn something new) but the time I’ve spent has been well worth it.

Here’s what I’ve learned so far:

  • Nothing compares to the absolute genius of finding a good tailor.  All of a sudden things fit perfectly!  And if you are a thrift shopper like me, it’s even better.  Take that $10 blazer and add about $12-15 of tweaking here and there and {wa-la} a blazer that fits better than a J. Crew’s $188 Schoolboy Blazer ever would.
  • Actually trying things on in the dressing room instead of giving them a glance and tossing them back onto the rack.  Life changing.
  • Accessories is where it’s all at.  Turn that super-comfy-but-totally-boring t-shirt and jeans into something with personality by tossing on a necklace, wearing the right belt and hoofing it in awesome shoes (all works in progress for me).
  • Patience.  Understanding something doesn’t happen overnight.  Truly learning a skill takes motivation, habit and…patience.

Here’s what I still want to learn (keeping it at three things cuz dang the list is long):

  • Proportion.  I see this word everywhere and for a slow learner petite lady like myself, it could be quite handy.
  • Color.  I don’t instantly see how colors work together.  I’m still uncertain about most things I pair.  Understanding color relationship might just give me a little much-needed assistance.
  • Fun, Risk, Creativity.  Okay, that’s more then three but I had to.  Like I’ve said about Beth at B. Jones Style or the way my sister dresses – half the time it doesn’t matter whether I like what they’ve got on.  The obvious fun they have with their clothing outweighs everything.  That.  I’ve got to learn it.

8 weeks down and 44 to go.

You learn something every day if you pay attention. – Ray LeBlond

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Style: What I’ve Learned so Far

  1. Haha! I loved all these. It is so true that a little tweaking gives something a $200 look. I can NOT afford those looks, so I’ve befriended the sewing machine and vintage stores.

I can't wait to hear what you have to say!

