She Found Style

an attempt to discover my sense of style in one year and learning more about myself than I ever imagined along the way

Dear Diary: Small Successes

So, yesterday was Day Two of our Portland Vacation/Shopping Trip.  Read about Day One here.  Thankfully, Day Two went a little better.  I give a lot of credit for a good day to the very delicious green smoothie I had for breakfast at Sips.  One of the first food carts in Portland that hasn’t made me ill after eating there.

From Sips, we hit up the Rack at the Downtown location where I tried on the most incredible Michael Kors leather jacket, picked up some t-shirts (I just can’t stay away) and purchased a lovely wool sweater (practical and pretty!) that I will be returning.

Stopped at J. Crew, H&M, and the Gap.  At the Gap I picked up the perfect staple sweater and tried on and fell in love with their Skinny Boot jean.  Now if only the Skinny Boot Jean could be worn over boots.  They should be called the Skinny Boot Jeans That Aren’t Really Mean to be Worn With Boots.  Boo.

Blah, blah, blah.  The big success for me on this trip?  Realizing that I am drawn to items with a more masculine feel.  I realized this while in the shoe section looking at boots.  Every boot I’m drawn to has a cowboy/motorcycle feel to it.  And as much as I try on the sleeker and shinier boots, I just don’t like those.  Discussing this with Mike was helpful too.  He tries to encourage me to pick out things that are more feminine and I don’t connect with them as much.  Which always leads to some sort of bickering or argument or whatever.  No more of that!

Now on to Day Three.  First we’ll hit up the juice cart and then we are off to some vintage shops, maybe TJ Maxx and probably more Nordstroms.  When this post is published I’ll be right in the middle of my style adventure.  Shopping and eating and hanging out in the fitting room and hopefully finding some great items.

Oh, and I’ve been looking for the perfect pair of sneakers – any good leads?

Single Post Navigation

I can't wait to hear what you have to say!

