She Found Style

an attempt to discover my sense of style in one year and learning more about myself than I ever imagined along the way

Who Am I? How My Personality Helps Define My Style – Part 1

per·son·al·i·ty/ˌpərsəˈnalitē/

Noun:     The combination of characteristics or qualities that form an individual’s distinctive character.

Since I believe that style can be a direct link to my personality, I suppose the logical next step would be to explore my personality.  To do this, I enlisted the help of my friends.  When I prompted them for some of my personality traits, they responded by saying I am Adventurous, Creative, Practical, Honest and Witty.  Thanks guys!  Later in the week I’ll explore how some of these positive traits can guide me in establishing my style.

But just to even the playing field, I added a few negative personality traits as well.  And we’ll start with these today. I am Impatient, Cheap, and a Perfectionist.  I see these traits reflected in my current style.  I dislike shopping because it takes too long (impatience).  I don’t like to experiment with looks because what if something I try on doesn’t look right the first time around (perfectionism).  And I’ve been in a very bad habit of buying based on quantity not quality (cheap).

These traits have held me up for years.  Even though I am naturally adventurous, I have really limited that trait in my wardrobe because of my impatience.  I have a closet full of items that I don’t love simply because they were cheap and didn’t require any thought to buy.  And my creativity has been squelched by my perfectionism.

With a closer look at my negative personality traits, I am hoping to begin to recognize them and avoid or change them.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Who Am I? How My Personality Helps Define My Style – Part 1

  1. I’ve found this post really interesting! Sometimes I find my style hard to define, maybe because I’m quite young and I don’t know who I am yet, I don’t know. But I do hope that you’ll post more on this subject!

  2. okay firstly, great post! Secondly, LOVE that green sweater. I have this sweater obsession lately haha where I have to own like every sweater
    Lovely Little Rants

  3. Very interesting break-down. I’ve been fighting my inherent cheapness, reminding myself that I’d rather have 1 $100 dress that 5 $20 dresses. Though I think there’s room for cheapness when it comes to some things… boring white t-shirst for example!

  4. I really love the idea behind your blog. I love that it’s so personal… I think a lot of readers connect with what you write because of that, and I love it when I stumble across a fashion blog with a difference! x

  5. Pingback: Who Am I? How My Personality Helps Define My Style – Part 2 « She Found Style

I can't wait to hear what you have to say!

