She Found Style

an attempt to discover my sense of style in one year and learning more about myself than I ever imagined along the way

He Said, She Said: Florence Eiseman

Please do not have a fit in the fitting room.  Your fashion life begins there.

-Florence Eiseman

The minute I see a fitting room, my first instinct is to turn around and go home.  Trying things on only to have them be too long or too big or not the right color.  Ugh. Not to mention dressing and undressing just to dress again takes too long, the fitting rooms are too small and the lighting is usually awful. Yup – I’m a big baby and this whole style thing is not at the top of my fun list.

But I’m missing the point of it all.  In the fitting room, I have the chance to discover what works for me.  Forget what doesn’t work.  Determine to learn what does.

I did this for the first time last week.  I approached the fitting room with an open mind.  The goal was to simply try things on and learn.  And I wasn’t too disappointed when I left the store empty-handed.  I may not have spent any money (that’s actually a good thing) but I learned more about shoes and scarves and jackets and shirts.  I collected a little bit of knowledge and experience in that super-bright and cramped dressing room.

The beginning of my fashion life.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “He Said, She Said: Florence Eiseman

  1. What a great quote! I’ll remember that…my fashion life starts in the fitting room.

  2. What a good attitude! I’ll try to remember that next time I’m going to try stuff on 🙂
    http://www.saysskippy.blogspot.com

  3. Pingback: Two Weeks Down, 50 More to Go « She Found Style

  4. Pingback: Dear Diary: Small Successes « She Found Style

  5. Pingback: He Said, She Said: Debra Rapoport « She Found Style

I can't wait to hear what you have to say!

