She Found Style

an attempt to discover my sense of style in one year and learning more about myself than I ever imagined along the way

The Challenges Continue…

So here’s a tricky problem I’ve come up against.  I’ve been reading and following blogs for the last 10 months trying to learn from other writers’ experiences.  Surprisingly it’s been a whole lot less useful than I thought it would be.  I’ve found that for the most part instead of learning anything, I just end up with other people’s opinions as my own.  I compare myself to other people more.  I listen to myself less.  And I quickly forget about the great things that make me, me (because everyone else just seems so much more cooler!).

I’ve come to a point where I am exhausted of hearing other people talk about themselves.  I need a break from being told what to do and how to do it.  I deleted most of the blogs I was following.

And here’s the funny part.  I’m not just tired of everyone else,  I’m tired of listening to myself talk about myself too.  It kind of cracks me up.

Ah well – that has been the point of this blog.  To push myself past the hard bits.

So, the question is: How the heck do I write about myself now when the last thing I want to write about is myself? How’s that for a challenge?

Never give up. Never, never give up! We shall go on to the end. -Winston Churchill

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “The Challenges Continue…

  1. sarah on said:

    I had to stop following a ton of blogs too… I would read them and feel like a failure. Now I follow about 3 regularly (yours being one :)) and I’ll read others every once in awhile. Not to mention the time it can take to keep up on everyone’s blogs!

  2. Karen on said:

    You may focus on yourself but the difference your blog is from others I’ve read is you keep it short, and you either encourage your readers or give us food for thought.

  3. Yes, I think I spend way too much time thinking about stuff that really doesn’t matter by reading too many blogs and comparing my life/ wardrobe/ budget etc. I guess it’s time be more realistic and less judgmental of myself. Put simply I need to get over myself! Love your honesty 🙂

I can't wait to hear what you have to say!