She Found Style

an attempt to discover my sense of style in one year and learning more about myself than I ever imagined along the way

What I Learned About Style by Running a 10k

I ran my first 10k on Saturday.  It was awesome.  I was so incredibly proud of myself.  I couldn’t believe that I stuck with running long enough to fall in love with it.  Great weekend.

During Mile Two when I was still breathing normally and could think clearly, I couldn’t help but notice (and admire) all the different types of people.  Runners, walkers, tall, short, fat, skinny, curves and angles.  And not everything I saw was what I expected.  One speed-walking man shook his hips like a woman as he strode his way through mile two.  A woman running at top-speed, her body defined by very serious-looking muscle, was on her way to the finish line as I was just starting – way to go!  Another woman’s bottom wiggled and jiggled as she jogged down the course.  A young child made up of knobby knees and long legs ran along after his dad.  We were all different.

And yet the same.  Everyone on that course brought something to the race – a goal.  Some just wanted to encourage a friend running a race for the first time.  Others wanted to beat a past race time.  My friend conquered the physical pain she’s been dealing with by not giving up.  I wanted to prove to myself that I could rise to a challenge and stick with it long enough to complete something.  We brought our goals and offered them to each other.

And in these observations I felt such joy in the beauty of humankind.  We all have unique characteristics that we love or hate.  We all bring something and have it to offer.  And I’m realizing, it’s in the loving of who we are, the bringing of something to give, that we find our main source of style – the foundation piece that everything else rests on.

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “What I Learned About Style by Running a 10k

  1. annie on said:

    Wow great insight and “Congratulations” on completing your race!!!!

  2. Marti on said:

    So proud of you, Betsy!

  3. Great job Betsy! This is truly what I love about running, it’s so individual. I am so stoked that you had that experience and I am hoping that we will catch a run together in the very near future.

  4. This is why I LOVE running road races. I feel motivated and energized by the people around me. It’s so fun!

I can't wait to hear what you have to say!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

